Collector's Editions

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection
Released: 2013
Platform: PlayStation 3
Regions: PAL

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection was released in Europe on September 12th 2013, exclusively for the PlayStation 3.

The game comes bundled with an art book in a paper slipcase. The front of the box shows the title with an image of three different Snakes visible behind the letters, and a cloudy sky in the background.


As opposed to the Japanese and US versions, the European art book has a hardcover. The illustration is the same: a stylish artwork by Yoji Shinkawa in black and white.


It contains promotional art works from Metal Gear Solid all the way up to the first Ground Zeroes posters. There are prints of posters, character renders, box arts… it provides a nice overview of the series’ promotional images of the last 15 years.







The only real downside is that since the art book is no bigger than a dvd case, which means the arts are all quite small.

The games themselves come in a regular PS3 case with two separate disc holders.


One disc contains MG1 and 2, MGS2, 3 and PW (HD versions), and the two digital novels. The other contains MGS4 (with the trophy patch and full install). Metal Gear Solid and the VR Missions can be downloaded using the included code.


A thin manual is also included, but it only shows you the controls of the games, so it’s not very noteworthy.

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection gives you a lot of content for a good price. While most people already own the majority – if not all – of these games, it can be a great deal for those looking to get into the series. Plus, you get the two digital novels, the second one of which has never been released outside of Japan before, and they’re both in HD for the first time. The art book is a nice little bonus. It’s a shame that MGS1 and the VR Missions aren’t actually on the disc. Instead you just get a leaflet containing a download code. Still, in terms for value for your money, you can’t go wrong with this release.