Collector's Editions

Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection Special Edition

Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection Special Edition
Platform: PlayStation 4
Year: 2015
Region: PAL

Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection Special Edition was released on October 7th 2015, and was only available in Europe, Australia and New Zealand, and on October 9th in the UK and Ireland.


The Special Edition consist of a box made of sturdy paper in sepia colors with a few goodies inside. It can be folded open, and the contents fit neatly inside.


The game itself comes in a nice looking steelbook. The front is decorated with a minimalistic, threshold style (high contrast with only black and white values) art of Nathan Drake.


On the back of the steelbook we can see a world map resembling those from the 16th century, or around that period.


The spine doesn’t have the name of the collection (that’s on the paper box itself) but the famous line ‘Sic Parvis Magna’, which is also written on the inside of Drake’s ring. Pretty neat detail.


Also included: a 48-page The Art of Uncharted Trilogy artbook.


It’s not very large, but at least it has a hardcover and seeing artworks from the three games together is quite nice. Needless to say the artwork look beautiful, and we also get a look at some early concept designs for some of the main characters.



There’s also a sticker sheet included in the steelbook, that comes with three stickers: the same artwork of Drake that’s on the box and the steelbook, the Uncharted logo and the Naughty Dog logo. Not a very spectacular extra.


You get some downloadable content as well, consisting of 7 outfits and 2 weapons, and access to the Uncharted 4 multiplayer beta, but these items also come with the normal version of the collection.

While this is not the most amazing special edition, and a quite pricey one as well, the steelbook and outer box are very appealing to the eye, and an artbook is always welcome. An interesting item for big Uncharted fans or collectors, especially considering the fact that it was only released in PAL regions.